Geekspin Blog

My first sighting of Gmail GTalk in the wild.

Posted on: February 14, 2006

Seems like they are slowly rolling out gtalk to gmail users, my sister had hers activated this morning it seems quite cool. Ajax implementation running in a little popover div on the right hand bottom of the screen with the option to detach to a popup. A test has revealed that you cannot just run the chat client without the main gmail window, what a shame.

Here is a link to see what I’m talking about.

Update: The geekspin email account has also just been updated! Drop me an email and I will invite you for a chat.

2 Responses to "My first sighting of Gmail GTalk in the wild."

The funny thing is that I signed up for Google’s chat without intending to – I clicked on something by mistake, and the next thing I know every email I scroll over opens a little box asking if I want to chat with that person. It’s gonna be big – cos it’s easy to sign up, and it’s easy to invite other to sign up.
Anyway, I’m sure I’ll get used to it.

No doubt. I am not a fan of leaving a browser window open, but you can’t argue with the useability factor of the whole deal. Gmail huge, GChat not-so-big, put them together, Super huge. Great idea and easy re-use of existing tech platforms. I love it!

Leave a Reply

