Geekspin Blog

Bar Camp in South Africa?

Posted on: March 4, 2006

Barcamp SA

From the www.barcamp.org wiki:

BarCamp is an ad-hoc un-conference born from the desire for people to share and learn in an open environment. It is an intense event with discussions, demos, and interaction from attendees.

I have noticed that there is a need to educate and communicate, we need to get the bright minds of SA under one roof and we need to share.

If you share my thinking and want to get involved please visit the BarCampSouthAfrica site, or email me at geekspin@gmail.com


Technorati Tags: , ,

3 Responses to "Bar Camp in South Africa?"

Attendees are expected to contribute back to the conference by participating actively. “Active participation” might mean giving a presentation, helping with a presentation, blogging or podcasting the event, or whatever other creative ways to contribute people can come up with.

Can I sell beer and badges? 🙂 I think I’m a little intimidated by participating in the whole presentation thing.

Lol, its cool man. I am not turning spectators away, but if there is a space issue I will need to make some tough choices and turn not contributers away first.

Now if you can organise one of those bands on your blog to come and play for us at the social …

Ag, Dankie – that’s a cool idea, actually. I’ll see what I can do when you’ve got a fix on the venue.

Leave a Reply

